Winthrop Earns No. 1 Seed for Women's Tennis Championship


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - Winthrop finished the season with an 8-0 Conference record to garner the Big South Women's Tennis Regular-Season Championship, it was announced today by the League office. For the second consecutive year, the Eagles earned the No. 1 seed in next week's Big South Women's Tennis Championship, which will be contested at the Asheville Racquet Club South in Asheville, N.C.

Charleston Southern finished second with a 7-1 record, while Coastal Carolina picked up the No. 3 seed.  Radford, Gardner-Webb and Liberty finished Conference play with identical 4-4 records. In the tiebreaker procedure, the Highlanders claimed the No. 4 seed, while the Runnin' Bulldogs took the No. 5 seed and the Flames landed the No. 6 spot.  Campbell finished the Big South season with a 2-6 record to garner the No. 7 slot and UNC Asheville's 0-8 Conference mark was good for the No. 8 position. 

The 2012 Big South Women's Tennis Championship begins Thursday, April 19 with four matches, and concludes with the Championship game on Saturday, April 21 in Asheville, N.C.  The Big South's tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Women's Tennis Tournament.  The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, April 19 - Asheville, N.C.
Match 1:  No. 1 Winthrop vs. No. 8 UNC Asheville, 8:30am ET
Match 2:  No. 4 Radford vs. No. 5 Gardner-Webb, not before 10:30am ET
Match 3:  No. 2 Charleston Southern vs. No. 7 Campbell, 1:30pm ET
Match 4: No. 3 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 6 Liberty, not before 3:30pm ET

Friday, April 20 (semifinals) - Asheville, N.C.
Match 5:  Match 1 winner vs. Match 2 winner, 10:00am ET
Match 6:  Match 3 winner vs. Match 4 winner, 1:00pm ET

Saturday, April 21 (Finals) - Asheville N.C.
Match 7:  Match 5 winner vs. Match 6 winner, 9:00am ET