UNC Asheville Wins 2009 Quiz Bowl


CHARLOTTE, N.C. – UNC Asheville posted a perfect 6-0 record to capture its first Big South Conference Quiz Bowl Tournament championship this past weekend in the 4th annual competition, which was held on the campus of Gardner-Webb University.  Asheville also ended Liberty University’s three-year title run in the tournament.  Other students participating in the academic question-and-answer contest came from Big South Conference members Presbyterian College, Radford University, Virginia Military Institute and Winthrop University.  The Big South Quiz Bowl is an outgrowth of the Conference’s Academic Consortium, designed to develop institutional relationships outside of athletics.

The student teams competed throughout the day last Saturday in timed head-to-head challenges.  The topics ranged from computer science and mathematics to history and literature – with dashes of pop culture and sports thrown in along the way, so that well-rounded knowledge among the team members proved to be the greatest asset for tournament success.  Teams received wins and losses for each match, with the day’s total record meant to decide the winner.

The UNC Asheville Bulldogs Quiz Bowl Team included contributions from Robert Meehan, Josh Siary, David Coates, Joseph Blair and Jennifer Guilford.  Meehan led all individual scorers in the competition with 260 points, which was more than the total of four competing teams.  VMI’s Greg Lippiatt was second among individuals with 180 points.

The Big South Conference’s Academic Consortium’s mission is to develop institutional relationships outside of athletics and to explore ways to share programs and resources to the benefit of students and member institutions.  In addition to developing the College Quiz Bowl into an annual event, the Consortium is planning the Conference’s second Undergraduate Research Symposium among Big South member institutions next month during the weekend of March 27-28 on the campus of UNC Asheville.

2009 Quiz Bowl Final Standings
1.  UNC Asheville (6-0)
2.  VMI (5-1)
3.  Liberty (4-2)
4.  Gardner-Webb (3-3)
5.  Radford (2-4)
6.  Presbyterian (1-5)
7.  Winthrop (0-6)