Two Big South Players Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List


KANSAS CITY, Kan. - The preseason accolades continue to accumulate for the Coastal Carolina men's soccer team; the latest addition being Ashton Bennett and Pedro Ribeiro earning slots on the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for 2012.

Considered the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer, the recipient of the M.A.C's Hermann Trophy is selected by Division I head coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. Bennett, a rising senior, and Ribeiro, a rising junior, are among 42 of the best men's Division I intercollegiate soccer players that comprise the 2012 Watch List.

The Chanticleers, who rank 17th in the NSCAA national preseason poll, join Iona (4), Connecticut (2), Memphis (2), Old Dominion (2), Furman (2), Maryland (2) and New Mexico (2) with multiple players on the list. In addition, Bennett and Ribeiro were the only two Big South Conference players to make the exclusive list.

Bennett, who was voted the 2012 Big South Preseason Attacking Player of the Year, was a semifinalist for the award a year ago. As a junior, the Jamaican striker was named a first team All-American by the NSCAA after the 2011 campaign. The 2011 Big South Attacking Player of the Year and All-South Atlantic Region first team selection, Bennett ranked first in the NCAA with 23 goals, 53 points and 2.41 points per game. He also finished the season ranked second in the nation with 1.05 goals per game.

Ribeiro, a native of Belo Horizonte, Brazil, was an NSCAA All-American third team honoree last season. He finished tops on the team with eight assists while finding the net nine times himself -- including a pair of game-winners against Gardner-Webb and High Point -- as Coastal netted 66 goals as a team; the highest goal output in the nation. Ribeiro was a NSCAA All-South Atlantic Region first team honoree and first team All-Big South Conference selection in 2011 as well as being a Big South All-Freshman team member in 2010. 

The watch list will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. NSCAA member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winner will be announced at an awards' banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.

Full Hermann Trophy Watch List