The 2005 New Balance Big South Conference Cross Country Championships Set to Get Underway on Saturday, Oct. 29


CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The 2005 New Balance Big South Conference Cross Country Championships will take place on Saturday, October 29, 2005, on the campus of VMI in Lexington, Va.  The women’s race will start at 10:00am, followed by the men’s race at 10:45.

Led by Josh McDougal, the defending men’s individual champion and 2004 All-American, the Liberty Flames look to win their first title since 1999.  McDougal has won every race he has participated in this season, as well as 12 of his last 13 career events.  The only race he has not won was at last year’s National Championships, where he finished 13th.   The Flames, the preseason favorites voted by the League’s coaches and sports information directors, are currently ranked fourth in the Southeast Region.

High Point, last year’s men’s team champion, looks to run its championship streak to four on the heels of Tamas Kovacs.  Kovacs has found himself atop the podium at three different races this year, including the Wake Forest Invitational (Sept. 2), the Winthrop Invitational (Sept. 17) and the East Carolina Invitational (Sept. 24).  Coastal Carolina’s Nelson Oliveira took first place honors at the CCU Invitational this season on Sept. 17, while Winthrop’s Brad Orr won the Campbell Invitational (Sept. 3).  Donnie Mikels of VMI finished first at the Winthrop Invitational on Oct. 10.

Coastal Carolina’s Anne Marie Moutsinga will look to win her third individual title in four years on Saturday, which would make her just the third three-time individual champion in League history.  Her teammate, Saskia Janssen, finished first at the Coastal Carolina Invitational on Sept. 17.  That day proved to be the Big South’s day as High Point’s Kali Burt won the ECU Invitational, Carol Jefferson finished first at the VMI Invitational and Winthrop’s Jennifer Povick won the Winthrop Invitational.

CCU’s women’s squad, the preseason favorite, has won a League-record four-straight team championships.  The last team to win prior to Coastal was Liberty in 2000.

The 2005 New Balance Big South Conference Cross Country Championships are free to spectators.