Radford Garners No. 1 Seed for the Men's Tennis Championship


CHARLOTTE, N.C. (www.BigSouthSports.com) - Radford finished the season with a 7-0 Big South record and was named the Big South Men's Tennis Regular-Season Champion, it was determined today as the Conference season concluded this afternoon.  The Highlanders earned the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Big South Men's Tennis Championship, which will be contested at the Crowne Plaza Resort in Asheville, N.C.UNC Asheville and Coastal Carolina finished Conference play with identical 5-2 records. In the tiebreaker procedure, the Bulldogs claimed the No. 2 seed and the Chanticleers took the No. 3 spot.  Campbell came in at the No. 4 spot with a 4-3 record in League play.  Winthrop and Liberty finished Big South competition with 3-4 records, but with the tiebreaker procedure, The Eagles earned the No. 5 position and the Flames landed the No. 6 spot.  Presbyterian College picked up the No. 7 seed as it finished with a 1-6 League record, while Gardner-Webb rounds out the seeding with its 0-7 record vs. Conference foes.

The 2012 Big South Men's Tennis Championship begins Thursday, April 19 with four matches, and concludes with the Championship game on Saturday, April 21 in Asheville, N.C.  The Big South's tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Tennis Tournament.  The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, April 19 - Asheville, N.C.
Match 1:  No. 1 Radford vs. No. 8 Gardner-Webb, 8:30am ET
Match 2:  No. 4 Campbell vs. No. 5 Winthrop, not before 10:30am ET
Match 3:  No. 2 UNC Asheville vs. No. 7 Presbyterian College, 1:30pm ET
Match 4:  No. 3 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 6 Liberty, not before 3:30pm ET

Friday, April 20 (semifinals) - Asheville N.C.
Match 5:  Match 1 winner vs. Match 2 winner, 10:00am ET
Match 6:  Match 3 winner vs. Match 4 winner, 1:00pm ET

Saturday, April 21 (Finals) - Asheville, N.C.
Match 7:  Match 5 winner vs. Match 6 winner, 1:00pm ET