Liberty Wins 2012 Men T&F Championship


MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. - The Liberty men and Coastal Carolina women won the 2012 Big South Outdoor Track & Field Championships presented by Musco Lighting and UCS.  The Flames posted a team score of 213 points as the Chanticleers notched 234 points at Doug Shaw Stadium in Myrtle Beach, S.C. on Saturday night.

Coming in second on the men's side was Coastal Carolina with 135 points, followed by High Point with 98 points.  In fourth was Charleston Southern and VMI with 78 points. Radford landed in the No. 6 spot with 57 points and in the No. 7 position was Winthrop with 55 points.  Gardner-Webb was eighth with 49.50 points.  Campbell (31) and UNC Asheville (20) rounded out the list.

On the women's side it was Liberty in second with 214.50 points and in third was Charleston Southern with 84 points.  Gardner-Webb claimed the No. 4 position with 66 points.  In fifth was Campbell with 48 points and at the No. 6 slot was Winthrop with 42 points.  UNC Asheville notched 41 points to earn the No. 7 position and High Point's 38 points was good for eighth.  VMI (27) and Radford (22.50) rounded out the top 10 for the women.

The final day saw four men's meet records fall.  Felix Kitur of VMI blazed a 1:48.79 in the 800-meter event.  In the 110-meter hurdles, Milan Ristic of UNC Asheville claimed the meet record with a clocking of 13.99.  The 4x100-meter event saw Charleston Southern's Rozzie Johnson, Javon Young, Corneilus Tyler and Dantwan Spreads re-set the meet standard with a 39.91 clocking.  Jason Flanagan of Coastal Carolina wrapped up the meet records on the final day with a throw of 73.01 meters in the javelin. 

Murlern Jean of Charleston Southern grabbed the meet record in the 100-meter hurdles with a clocking of 13.45 and Jennifer Klugh of Liberty set the meet standard with a time of 4:29.87 in the 1,500 meters.

Due to time constraints the head coaches did not vote on the Most Outstanding Track Performer, Most Outstanding Field Performer, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year.  Those awards along with the All-Academic Team and Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be released on Monday, April 23.