Liberty University Repeats As Big South College Bowl Champions


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - Liberty University posted a perfect 5-0 record to capture its second consecutive Big South Conference College Bowl Tournament championship this past weekend in the 6th annual competition, which was held on the campus of Coastal Carolina University.  The victory was also Liberty's fifth overall title in the event's history.  Other students participating in the academic question-and-answer contest came from Big South Conference members Coastal Carolina, Gardner-Webb University, High Point University, UNC Asheville and Winthrop University.  The Big South College Bowl competition is an outgrowth of the Conference's Academic Consortium, designed to develop institutional relationships outside of athletics.

In the Big South College Bowl, student teams compete throughout the day in timed head-to-head challenges.  The topics cover a remarkably wide range, covering the gamut from traditional academic subjects to current pop culture and sports.  That array makes well-rounded knowledge among the team members the greatest asset for tournament success.  Teams received wins and losses for each match, with the day's total record meant to decide the overall winner.

The Liberty Flames College Bowl Team included contributions from Catherine Hardee, Corbin Payne, Lillian Otieno, Andrea Teachout and Jake Rogers.  Hardee led all individual scorers in the competition with 215 points, and her teammates all placed in the top 13.  UNC Asheville's Karim Gilbert (170) and Coastal Carolina's Seth Morgan (160) were second and third, respectively, among the individual competitors.  The top individual scorers for the remaining teams were James Withrow for Gardner-Webb, Javy Gwaltney of Winthrop and Gavin Coombs for High Point.

The Big South Conference's Academic Consortium's mission is to develop institutional relationships outside of athletics and to explore ways to share programs and resources for the benefit of students and member institutions.  In addition to developing the College Bowl into an annual event, the Consortium is planning the Conference's fourth Undergraduate Research Symposium among Big South member institutions during the weekend of April 15-16 at Virginia Military Institute.

2011 College Bowl Final Standings
1. Liberty (5-0)
2. UNC Asheville (4-1)
3. Coastal Carolina (3-2)
4. Gardner-Webb (2-3)
5. Winthrop (1-4)
6. High Point (0-5)

Annual Big South College Bowl Champions
2011 - Liberty
2010 - Liberty
2009 - UNC Asheville
2008 - Liberty
2007 - Liberty
2006 - Liberty