Liberty Earns Big South Women Cross Country Title


Rock Hill, S.C. - The Liberty Lady Flames won the 2012 Big South Cross Country Women's Championship presented by UCS and Musco Lighting on the campus Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C. on Saturday morning.  Liberty's Jennifer Klugh took the top spot in the women's 5K to pick up Runner of the Year honors

The Lady Flames posted 40 points, followed by Coastal Carolina with 72 points.  High Point came in third with 73 points, ahead of Winthrop with 136 points.  UNC Asheville took home fifth with 140 points and in sixth was VMI with 142 points.  Campbell claimed the seventh position with 148 points.  Charleston Southern and Radford tied for eighth with 239 points, while Gardner-Webb claimed the 10th spot with 264 points.  Longwood (300 points) and Presbyterian College (389 points) rounded out the list for the men.

Klugh posted a school-record time of 17:18 to finish six seconds ahead of Jeanne Stroud from Winthrop who crossed the line in 17:24.  Emma Bussard of UNC Asheville was third with a time of 17:47 and in fourth was Jenna Moye of VMI with a time of 17:55.  Kayleigh Perry's time of 18:00 was good for fifth, while teammate Kelsey Hunt broke the tape in 18:05.  Khristina Kanagy of Liberty came in at No. 7 with a time of 18:09 and in eighth was teammate Jacy Christiansen with a time of 18:10.  In ninth, was Betel Yosef of Liberty with a time of 18:11 and Letitia Saayman of Coastal Carolina closed out the list of All-Big South Performers with a time of 18:14.

Liberty's Brant Tolsma was named the the  Coach of the Year, with  Saayman earning the Women's Freshman of the Year honor.

Stroud was named the Big South Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Big South Cross Country Individual Honors 

2012 Runner of the Year
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
2012 Freshman of the Year
Leitia Saayman, Coastal Carolina

2012  All -Conference Team
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop
Emma Bussard, UNC Asheville
Jenna Moye, VMI
Kayleigh Perry, High Point
Kelsey Hunt, High Point
Khristina Kanagy, Liberty
Jacy Christiansen, Liberty
Betel Yosef, Liberty
Letitia Saayman

2012 Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop

2012 Cross Country All-Academic Team
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop
Jenna Moye, VMI
Emma Bussard, UNC Ashevillle
Emily Marchini, Coastal Carolina
Kelsey Paine, High Point
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
Heidi Dean, Charleston Southern
Hannah Scheren, Radford
Rebecca Denny, Longwood
Elisabeth Sawyer, Garder-Webb
Jennifer Lockman, Presbyterian College
Ashley Matthews, Campbell

Coach of the Year 
Brant Tolsma, Liberty