Lady Flames Take Home Indoor Track & Field Crown


CLEMSON, S.C - The Liberty men and Liberty women won the 2011 Big South Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships Friday afternoon at the Clemson Indoor Track Facility in Clemson, S.C.  The Flames picked up a total of 198 points to win their 14th-straight men's crown.  The Lady Flames notched a total of 179.50 points to win their second-straight Indoor Track and Field crown.

The men's second place finisher was VMI with 113 points and Charleston Southern landed in the third position with 108.5 points.  Radford found itself in fourth with 69.5 points, while High Point and Winthrop tied for fifth with 56 points.  Gardner-Webb finished seventh with 49 points and UNC Asheville rounded out the list for the men as it finished with 11 total points.

The Coastal Carolina women finished second with 159.50 points and in third was UNC Asheville with 62 points.  Charleston Southern took fourth with 55 points, followed by Gardner-Webb with 52.50 points.  Radford came in at No. 6 with 48 points and in the No. 7 spot was VMI with 47 points.  High Point placed eighth with 36 points and Winthrop closed out the women's scoring with 23.50 points.

Javon Young from Charleston Southern picked up the Most Outstanding Track Performer for the second-straight year as he finished No. 1 in both the 60 and 200-meter events.  The men's Most Outstanding Field Performer was Liberty's Ryan Smith.  Smith took home the gold in the shot put and finished second in the weight throw.

For the women, Jennifer Klugh of Liberty took home the Most Outstanding Track Performer.  Klugh won the gold in the 3,000-meters and the mile, while finishing second in the 5K.  The women's Most Outstanding Field Performer was Kierra Gabe from Coastal Carolina.  Gabe set the Big South meet record in the high jump and finished fifth overall in the triple jump.

Radford's Chris Dobbins picked up the Men's Freshman of the Year Award, while Amber Church of Radford garnered the Women's Freshman of the Year.  The honor marked the second-straight year a Radford woman was named the League's Freshman of the Year.

Darrin Webb of VMI brought home the Coach of the Year for the men, while Christoph Hutschalik of Gardner-Webb was named the Big South's Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Jesse Norman of UNC Asheville won women's Coach of the Year honors and Gardner-Webb's Carrie Long was the women's Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Team Results
Men - Team Rankings - 17 Events Scored
1. Liberty - 198
2. VMI - 113
3. Charleston Southern - 108.50
4. Radford - 69.50
5. Winthrop - 56
5. High Point - 56
7. Gardner-Webb - 49
8. UNC Asheville - 11

Team Results
Women - Team Rankings - 17 Events Scored
1. Liberty - 179.50
2. Coastal Carolina - 159.50
3. UNC Asheville - 62
4. Charleston Southern - 55
5. Gardner-Webb - 52.50
6. Radford - 48
7. VMI - 47
8. High Point - 36
9. Winthrop - 23.50

Men's Most Outstanding Track Performer
Javon Young, Charleston Southern

Women's Most Outstanding Track Performer
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty

Men's Most Outstanding Field Performer
Ryan Smith, Liberty

Women's Most Outstanding Field Performer
Kierra Gabe, Coastal Carolina

Men's Freshman of the Year
Chris Dobbins, Radford

Women's Freshman of the Year
Amber Church, Radford

Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Christoph Hutschalik, Gardner-Webb

Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Carrie Long, Gardner-Webb

Men's All-Academic
Christoph Hutschalik, Gardner-Webb
Josh Edmonds, Liberty
Brett Olinger, Radford
Neal Darmody, High Point
Andrew King, Charleston Southern
Adam Freudenthal, Winthrop
Simon Haake, UNC Asheville

Women's All-Academic
Carrie Long, Gardner-Webb
Christina Fenske, High Point
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
Jenna Moye, VMI
Sierrah Oates, Coastal Carolina
Tara Bowman, Winthrop
Adrienne Cuff, Charleston Southern
Rachel Carson, UNC Asheville
Alyssa Barrow, Radford

Men's Coach of the Year
Darrin Webb, VMI

Women's Coach of the Year
Jesse Norman, UNC Asheville