HPU Claims Women's Big South Cross Country Crown


Slide Show 

CONWAY, S.C. - High Point won the 2011 Big South Cross Country Championship presented by UCS on the campus of Coastal Carolina University in Conway, S.C. on Saturday morning.  Liberty's Jennifer Klugh took the top spot in the women's 5K to pick up Runner of the Year honors.

The Panthers finished with 33 points, followed by Liberty with 59 and Coastal Carolina with 81.  Campbell was fourth with 91 points, while Winthrop was fifth with 146 points.  In sixth was VMI with 155 points and in seventh was Charleston Southern 209 points.  Gardner-Webb (230), UNC Asheville (238) and Radford (250) rounded out the list for the women

Klugh posted a time of 17:29 to finish 17 seconds ahead of Winthrop's Jeanne Stroud who clocked in at 17:46.  In third-place was Kayleigh Perry of High Point with a time of 17:52, followed by Coastal Carolina's Christian Johnson who finished with a time of 17:56.  Panther runner Audrey Malloy checked in at 18:01 to finish fifth just ahead of Liberty's Khristina Kanagy who posted a time of 18:01 to finish sixth.  In seventh-place was Kelsey Hunt from High Point with a time of 18:10, edging teammate Kelsey Paine who finished with a time of 18:12.  Rachael Deline from Campbell was the ninth-place finisher with a time of 18:12 and Kelsey Fraser of High Point closed out the list of All-Big South runners with a time of 18:14.

High Point mentor Mike Esposito took home Coach of the Year honors and VMI's Emily Dinning earned Freshman of the Year plaudits.

Fraser of HPU was named the Big South's Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

2011 Runner of the Year
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty

2011 Freshman of the Year
Emily Dinning, VMI

2011 All -Conference Team
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop
Kayleigh Perry, High Point
Christian Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Audrey Malloy, High Point
Khristina Kanagy, Liberty
Kelsey Hunt, High Point
Kelsey Paine, High Point
Rachel Deline, Campbell
Kelsey Fraser, High Point

2011 Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kelsey Fraser, High Point

2011 Cross Country All-Academic Team
Kelsey Fraser, High Point
Jenna Moye, VMI
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop
Heidi Dean, Charleston Southern
Ashley Matthews, Campbell
Janel Reeves, Coastal Carolina
Ellie Glunk, Gardner-Webb
Kylie Smith, UNC Asheville
Stephanie Newell, Presbyterian College
Hannah Scheren, Radford

Coach of the Year 
Mike Esposito, High Point