Campbell Wins 2012 Big South Women's Golf Championship



NINETY SIX, S.C. ( - Campbell used a team aggregate score of 296 to pull away and win the 2012 Big South Women's Golf Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting Wednesday afternoon at The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety Six, S.C., while Coastal Carolina's Brittany Henderson's record-breaking performance earned her medalist honors for the runner-up Chanticleers.

Campbell (294-300-296) receives the Big South's automatic berth to the NCAA Regional after leading wire-to-wire and winning by six strokes ahead of Coastal Carolina (298-297-301).  Entering the final day with a one-shot lead, the Camels were five shots better than the Chanticleers on Wednesday to win the Big South championship in their first year back in the League.  Campbell previously won championships in 1993 and 1994 before departing for the Atlantic Sun.

Henderson, who was the 36-hole leader at 1-under 143, carded a 1-under 71 on Wednesday to finish with a 2-under 214 -- the lowest 54-hole score and lowest under-par total in Championship history.  She is the fifth Chanticleer to win the Big South individual title in the past eight years.  Henderson won by seven strokes, the largest margin of victory since 2005 and the third-highest overall in Championship annals.

Coastal's Frida Castillo carded a 1-over 73 and finished in a tie for second with Big South Women's Golfer of the Year Kaylin Yost at 5-over 225.  First round leader Michelle Koh of Campbell finished fourth at 222 (+6), while Gardner-Webb's Hannah Hellyer -- last year's runner-up, moved up from a tie for seventh-place to finish fifth at 225 (+9).  The Camels placed four players in the top eight, while Coastal had three players in the top six.  Wednesday's final round featured eagles by Hellyer, Holy Cross's Ellie DeLuca and Winthrop's Rachel Wyatt.

Following Campbell and Coastal Carolina in the team standings was host Gardner-Webb in third at 921.  Charleston Southern made the biggest charge of the day, moving up from seventh place to finish fourth after posting a team aggregate score of 308 to finish at 938.  Winthrop was fifth as the Eagles finished one shot behind the Buccaneers and two ahead of Radford (941).  Associate member Bucknell placed seventh at 951, five strokes ahead of High Point (956).  Associate member Holy Cross was officially ninth with a 1,174.  Presbyterian College concluded the tournament at 961, but the Blue Hose's results do not officially count in the individual or team standings as they finalize their transition to Division I.

Earning All-Conference honors based on their play in the Conference Championship were Castillo, Hellyer, Coastal Carolina's Jessica Alexander, Campbell's Teresa Urquizu, Radford's Jade Okamato and Wyatt.  The six join Henderson, Yost, Koh, Campbell's Lisbeth Brooks and Coastal Carolina's Kaitlin Higginbotham, who were voted to the team for their regular-season play and were announced on Monday.

Below are the final team and individual results, as well as the complete Women's Golf award recipients.

FinalTeam Leaders  FinalIndividual Leaders     
1.Campbell294-300-296 = 890   1.Brittany Henderson, Coastal Carolina75-68-71 = 214-2   
2.Coastal Carolina298-297-301 = 896 T-2.Frida Castillo, Coastal Carolina76-72-73 = 221+5   
3.Gardner-Webb307-304-310 = 921 T-2.Kaylin Yost, Campbell73-72-76 = 221+5   
4.Charleston Southern321-309-308 = 938 4.Michelle Koh, Campbell71-76-75 = 222+6   
5.Winthrop313-306-320 = 939 5.Hannah Hellyer, Gardner-Webb77-74-74 = 225+9   
6.Radford310-314-317 = 941 6.Jessica Alexander, Coastal Carolina73-78-75 = 226+10   
7.Bucknell320-311-320 = 951 7.Lisbeth Brooks, Campbell78-75-74 = 227+11   
8.High Point314-317-325 = 956 8.Teresa Urquizu, Campbell72-84-72 = 228+12   
**Presbyterian College318-307-336 = 961 T-9.Jade Okamoto, Radford75-78-76 = 229+13   
9. Holy Cross 395-382-397 = 1174 T-9.Rachel Wyatt, Winthrop78-76-75 = 229+13   

Kaylin Yost, Soph., Campbell
Brittany Henderson, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Michelle Koh, Sr., Campbell
Kaitlin Higginbotham, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Lisbeth Brooks, Fr., Campbell
Frida Castillo, Fr., Coastal Carolina
Hannah Hellyer, Jr., Gardner-Webb
Jessica Alexander, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Teresa Urquizu, Jr., Campbell
Jade Okamoto, Sr., Radford
Rachel Wyatt, Fr., Winthrop

Minjoo Lee, Sr., Bucknell
Kaylin Yost, Soph., Campbell
Amanda D'Ostroph, Jr., Charleston Southern
Brittany Henderson, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Courtney Finocchiaro, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Margaret Suchan, Soph., High Point
Ellie DeLuca, Sr., Holy Cross
Micah Dowling, Jr., Presbyterian College
Kirsty Condon, Soph., Radford
Katie Bolling, Sr., Winthrop

Brittany Henderson, Coastal Carolina

Kaylin Yost, Soph., Campbell

Lisbeth Brooks, Campbell

John Crooks, Campbell

Amanda D'Ostroph, Jr., Charleston Southern