Big South Places 17 Football Players on CFPA Watch List


CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- The College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) has named 17 Big South football players to its 2013 FCS Awards Watch List.  Liberty has five selections: Josh Woodrum, Aldreakis Allen, Francis Bah, Nick Sigmon, and Kevin Fogg.  Gardner-Webb also has five selections: Kenny Cook, Preston Pemasa, Seth Cranfill, Tanner Burch, and J.J Hubbard.

Coastal Carolina had four players named to the Watch List:  Johnnie Houston, Quinn Backus, Matt Hazel, and Niccolo Mastromatteo.  Presbyterian's Cedric Byrd and Donelle Williams earned spots on the list, while VMI's Mario Thompson also earned a spot.

Since its inception, five Big South players have earned annual CFPA awards: Liberty's Chris Summers and Fogg, Charleston Southern's Gerald Stevenson, and Presbyterian's Justin Bethel.  Last season, Miguel Maysonet earned the CFPA All-Purpose Performer of the Year Award.

Fogg is the Conference's lone returning recipient as he was the 2011 CFPA Elite Kickoff Returner Award winner.

College Football Performance Awards is the largest awards organization in Division I college football.  All recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.  More than 130 CFPA winners have signed professional contracts, and 21 have been first-round NFL Draft selections.  For more on the CFPA, visit and follow on Twitter at @cfperformance.