Big South Conference To Celebrate 40th Anniversary of Title IX


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - With the 40th anniversary of Title IX earlier this summer, the Big South Conference announced today its plans to celebrate this landmark legislation throughout the 2012-13 athletic season by showcasing its impact on the Conference's history as well as its student-athletes and coaches. 

The Conference has created its own special commemorative Title IX Anniversary logo as part of the celebration, which will be featured on all related celebratory materials.  During the next nine months, the Big South will unveil a "This Month in Big South Women's Athletics History" feature to highlight and acknowledge remarkable achievements by its women's student-athletes and programs in the Conference's history. 

In addition, the League will rollout video segments each month around its nine women's sports as part of a special "Musco Spotlight" -- the Big South's monthly women's athletics feature now in its fourth year and sponsored by Musco Sports Lighting.  Segments will feature student-athletes and coaches discussing the topic, "What Title IX means to me" and will be unveiled on a sport-by-sport basis.  These segments will be available on The Big South Network as well as the Conference's Facebook page.

The Conference will begin its celebration tomorrow, Friday, August 31 with its women's athletic moments from the months of June, July and August.  The campaign will conclude in May at the Big South's annual Spring Meetings & Hall of Fame Dinner with a final video presentation and the announcement of the Musco Big South Woman of the Year winner.

Founded in 1983, the Big South Conference has matured into a competitive leader in college athletics, actively pursuing excellence on the field of play and in the classroom.  Comprised of 12 member institutions throughout the Southeast, the Big South Conference continues to succeed on the field through its 19 championship sports while intentionally fostering the academic, personal, social, athletic and leadership development of its student-athletes.  The institutions of the Big South Conference -- Campbell University, Charleston Southern University, Coastal Carolina University, Gardner-Webb University, High Point University, Liberty University, Longwood University, Presbyterian College, Radford University, UNC Asheville, Virginia Military Institute and Winthrop University -- have a remarkable history of achievement.  The 2012-13 academic year marks features the Big South's largest membership (12) and sponsored sports (19) in its 29 years of existence.  The Big South Conference: Developing Leaders Through Athletics.