Big South Conference Announces 2014 Women's Tennis Annual Award Winners


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( –  Charleston Southern’s Marketa Placha (Czech Republic) has been voted the Big South Conference Women’s Tennis Player of the Year, while Buccaneers’ head coach Mike Baker was tabbed the League’s Coach of the Year by the Conference’s head coaches, it was announced today by the Conference office.  Coastal Carolina’s Honami Yazawa (Ojai, Calif) was selected Freshman of the Year, while the League's sports information directors voted Coastal Carolina’s Dominique de Wit (Son en Breugel, The Netherlands) as the Big South Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Placha, playing primarily at No. 1 singles, finished the season with a 13-4 overall singles record and a Big South mark of 8-1. She led the Buccaneers to an undefeated Conference season and a 14-match winning streak to end the season.  In No. 3 doubles, Placha posted an overall record of 13-3 and 8-1 in League play with teammate Nicolin Luecke.  The duo rattled off a 10-match winning streak earlier this season.  Placha earned Big South Women’s Tennis Player of the Week once this season (April 1) and captured seven first-place votes and 15 points for Player of the Year honors.   

Baker led his squad to a 15-3 overall record and a perfect 9-0 mark in League play. The award marks the third time he has received Coach of the Year honors.  Baker led the Bucs to their third regular-season championship and second during his tenure.  He earned seven first-place votes and 16 points, finishing ahead of Winthrop head coach Cid Carvalho (six points).

Yazawa finished the season with a 16-5 overall record in singles play and a 6-3 record in Big South contests.  The freshman went 10-0 playing from the No. 3 position and had a season-high eight-match win streak.  Playing at the top position in doubles, Yazawa posted a 12-7 record for the season.  She won Big South Player of the Week honors on February 18 and garnered seven first-place votes and 15 points to win Freshman of the Year.

De Wit, a 4.0 student majoring in political science, holds a 4.0 GPA, is a two-time Big South All-Academic Team honoree and a member of the Big South Presidential Honor Roll.  She has been used primarily as a doubles player this season, posting a 15-3 overall record.  In the No. 2 doubles position, De Wit is 11-1, including a 5-0 mark in League matches.

Also announced today were the Women’s Flight Winners, the All-Conference Singles and Doubles Award winners and the All-Academic team.  The Big South Conference Women’s Tennis Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting continues Tuesday at Gardner-Webb University in Boiling Springs, N.C., with the quarterfinals at 11:30am.


Women’s Tennis Flight Winners
No. 1 singles – Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
No. 2 singles – Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
No. 3 singles – Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
No. 4 singles – Nicolin Luecke, Charleston Southern
No. 5 singles – Rokia Sacko, Gardner-Webb
No. 6 singles – Monica Aguado, Winthrop

No. 1 doubles – Yvonne Hubler/Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
No. 2 doubles – Belen Rivera/Brittany Yang, Liberty
No. 3 doubles – Cameron Richard/Valerie Thong, Liberty

All-Conference Singles
Marketa Placha, Charleston Southern
Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
Karolina Chernaya, Campbell
Libby Scott, Coastal Carolina
Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
Alice Garcia, Winthrop
Honami Yazawa, Coastal Carolina
Caitlin Cridland, Winthrop

All-Conference Doubles
Yvonne Hubler and Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
Andressa Garcia and Alice Garcia, Winthrop
Libby Scott and Dominique De Wit, Coastal Carolina
Belen Rivera and Brittany Yang, Liberty

All-Academic Team
Ana Maria Ortiz, Campbell
Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
Dominique De Wit, Coastal Carolina
Rokia Sacko, Gardner-Webb
Brittany Yang, Liberty
Sarah Moomau, Longwood
Lucia Leahy, Presbyterian
Taylor Newman, Radford
Zoe Hamel, UNC Asheville
Andressa Garcia, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Marketa Placha, Charleston Southern

Freshman of the Year
Honami Yazawa, Coastal Carolina

Scholar–Athlete of the Year
Dominique De Wit, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Mike Baker, Charleston Southern