Big South Announces Women's Golf Annual Award Winners


GREENWOOD, S.C. ( - Campbell sophomore Kaylin Yost has been voted the 2011-12 Big South Women's Golfer of the Year by the League's head coaches, it was announced Monday evening at the Conference's annual banquet held at the Greenwood Visitor's Bureau in Greenwood, S.C.  Camels' head coach John Crooks was voted Coach of the Year for the third time during his tenure in the Big South, and Campbell's Lisbeth Brooks was selected as Freshman of the Year by the group.  Charleston Southern's Amanda D'Ostroph was voted Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the Big South's sports information directors.

Yost is first in the Conference with a 75.24 scoring average and posted four Top 10 finishes during the season, including medalist honors at the JMU Eagle Landing Invitational.  Yost carded two rounds below par, including a 67 in her tournament win that is tied for the lowest in the Big South this season.  She is ranked No. 164 by GolfStat - the highest of any Big South golfer, and she was Campbell's top finisher in three events in 2011-12.

Crooks directed his team to the No. 1 seed in this week's Big South Women's Golf Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting and a No. 58 national ranking.  Playing the second-toughest schedule in the League this year, the Camels finished the regular-season with eight Top 4 team finishes in 10 events, including the team the team title at the LPGA Xavier Invitational and the Fighting Camel Fall Classic.  Campbell also has all five players competing in this week's championship ranked among the Big South's top 11 scoring leaders.  Crooks is now a three-time Big South Coach of the Year honoree following his awards in 1993 and 1994 during the Camels' first stint in the League.

Brooks is Campbell's first-ever Freshman of the Year honoree.  She is fourth in the Big South this season with a 76.04 scoring average, and was Campbell's top finisher at the John Kirk/Panther Intercollegiate.  Brooks had two Top 10 finishes and carded a 67 at the season-opening Golfweek Program Challenge - tied for the lowest in the Big South this season.  She also had five rounds at or below par.

D'Ostroph, a junior with a 4.00 grade-point average in Biology, is the Buccaneers' first Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year award winner since Patricia Martinson won it three-straight years from 1999-01.  A CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree last year, D'Ostroph is first on her squad and 10th overall in the League in scoring average at 77.24, and posted two Top 10 finishes in 2011-12.  She is the co-Founder and Vice President of CSU's Pre-Pharmacy Association and a member of Beta Beta Beta National Biological Society.

The Big South also announced half of its All-Conference honorees at the banquet.  These selections are based on regular-season play and feature Yost and Brooks, as well as Coastal Carolina teammates Brittany Henderson and Kaitlin Higginbotham and Campbell senior Michelle Koh.  The five remaining All-Conference members (and any additional ties) will be determined by their finish in the Championship and not among those already announced.

Campbell leads the 2012 Big South Women's Golf Championship following Monday's first round, which is being contested at The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety-Six, S.C.  Second round action will begin Tuesday morning at 8:00am ET, while final round competition is slated for Wednesday morning at 8:00am ET.  The women's champion will receive an automatic berth in the NCAA Regionals.  The event is free and open to the public, and can be followed online at via GolfStat's "Live Scoring" feature.

2012 Big South Conference Women's Golf Award Winners

Kaylin Yost, Soph., Campbell
Brittany Henderson, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Michelle Koh, Sr., Campbell
Kaitlin Higginbotham, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Lisbeth Brooks, Fr., Campbell
All-Academic Team
Minjoo Lee, Sr., Bucknell
Kaylin Yost, Soph., Campbell
Amanda D'Ostroph, Jr., Charleston Southern
Brittany Henderson, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Courtney Finocchiaro, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Margaret Suchan, Soph., High Point
Ellie DeLuca, Sr., Holy Cross
Micah Dowling, Jr., Presbyterian College
Kirsty Condon, Soph., Radford
Katie Bolling, Sr., Winthrop

Golfer of the Year
Kaylin Yost, Soph., Campbell

Freshman of the Year
Lisbeth Brooks, Campbell

Coach of the Year
John Crooks, Campbell

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Amanda D'Ostroph, Jr., Charleston Southern