Big South Announces Top Women's Basketball Awards


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - Gardner-Webb senior Margaret Roundtree and Lady Bulldogs head coach Rick Reeves have been voted the 2009-10 Big South Conference Women's Basketball Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively, by the League's head coaches and media panel, it was announced this evening.  The voting panel voted Presbyterian College center Mariah Pietrowski Freshman of the Year and tabbed Coastal Carolina senior guard Amanda Stull as the League's Defensive Player of the Year.  Stull was also voted Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the League's sports information directors.

Roundtree, a forward from Durham, N.C., ranks No. 6 in the Big South and is second on her squad in scoring with 12.4 points per game.  She is currently averaging 6.7 rebounds per game to rank first on her squad and seventh in the Big South Conference.  Roundtree has notched two 20-point games on the year and has four outings with at least 10 boards.  A two-time Big South Player of the Week selection this season, she joined Gardner-Webb's 1,000-point club and is GWU's all-time career field goals leader with 517.  Roundtree has scored in double-figures in 22 games on the year and has posted three games with double-doubles.  She collected six first-place votes to finish with 142 points, ahead of teammate Dominique Hudson who notched seven No. 1 bids and 137 points.

Reeves, who currently ranks No. 3 all-time in Big South Conference history with 167 wins, led the Lady Bulldogs to the program's first-ever regular-season conference championship in its 35-year history.  Gardner-Webb finished the season with a 26-3 overall record and 15-1 record in League play, marking new highs in wins for the program in both categories.  Reeves has had his team in the spotlight all season, garnering votes in the USA TODAY/ESPN Division I Coaches' Poll consistently all season, ranking as high as No. 29 in the country.  His squad was 14-2 in home games this season and 10-1 in contests on the road, including an 8-0 mark on the road in Big South action.  One of the Lady Bulldogs' biggest wins this season came on Dec. 21 as they downed Purdue on the road to record the program's first-ever win over a Big Ten foe.  He recorded 17 top votes to finish with 53 points in the voting, ahead of Julie Goodenough of Charleston Southern who earned one first-place vote and 27 points.

Pietrowski, a League-high four-time Big South Freshman of the Week selection, finished her season with a true-freshman-high 10.7 points per contest.  She recorded three contests with at least 10 rebounds and notched two games with at least 20 points.  She scored in double-digits in 13 contests and posted one double-double during her freshman campaign.  She collected six first-place bids to finish with 74 points.  Radford's Da'Naria Erwin Spencer was second in the voting with six first-place votes and 49 points.
Stull currently ranks No. 1 in the Big South and is No. 19 in the nation with 3.0 steals per outing.  She recorded a total of 81 steals on the year and is one of only two players in the League with eight take-aways in a single game.  Stull currently ranks fourth in the Coastal Carolina record book for steals in a career.  She picked up six first-place votes and finished with 18 points, while Mackenzie Maier of High Point was second with four first-place nods and 10 points.
Dominique Hudson joined Roundtree on the First-Team, while Liberty also placed a pair of players on the First-Team in Devon Brown and Avery Warley.  Winthrop's Shanice Cole rounded out the list of five on the First-Team.
2009-10 Big South Conference Women's Basketball Award Winners

First-Team All-Conference
Margaret Roundtree, Gardner-Webb
Dominique Hudson, Gardner-Webb
Devon Brown, Liberty
Avery Warley, Liberty
Shanice Cole, Winthrop

Second-Team All-Conference
Katie Tull, Charleston Southern
Kelsey Wasmer, Charleston Southern
Sydnei Moss, Coastal Carolina
Courtney Epps, Gardner-Webb
Kymesha Alston, Radford (tie)
Amanda Stull, Coastal Carolina (tie)

All-Freshman Team
Mariah Pietrowski, Presbyterian College
Da'Naria Erwin Spencer, Radford
Helen Terry, Charleston Southern
Dria David, Presbyterian College
Jelena Antic, Liberty

Academic All-Conference
Amanda Stull, Coastal Carolina
Mackenzie Maier, High Point
Kelsey Wasmer, Charleston Southern
Kylee Beecher, Liberty
Meranda Burnett, Gardner-Webb
Lacey Lyons, Winthrop
Amanda Mills, Presbyterian College
Lindsey Montgomery, UNC Asheville
Kaylyn Crosier, Radford

Player of the Year
Margaret Roundtree, Gardner-Webb

Defensive Player of the Year
Amanda Stull, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Mariah Pietrowski, Presbyterian College

Coach of the Year
Rick Reeves, Gardner-Webb

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Amanda Stull, Coastal Carolina