Big South Announces Seedings, Pairings for Baseball Championship


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - For the sixth consecutive season and the seventh time in the last eight years, Coastal Carolina is the No. 1 seed in the 2012 Big South Baseball Championship presented by Brookwood Farms BBQ and Triangle Rent A Car, which will be contested May 22-26 at Williard Stadium on the campus of High Point University.  The Chanticleers' sixth-straight regular-season championship ties the Big South record and extends their overall League mark for most titles to 15.

Coastal Carolina, which finished the season with an 18-5 Conference record, will attempt to win its unprecedented sixth consecutive Tournament title next week.  The Big South Tournament is now a double-elimination format and features eight squads competing for the League's automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals -- highlighted by a "winner-take-all" championship game on Saturday that will be televised live on ESPN3 at 4:00pm.

Campbell secured the No. 2 seed with its record of 15-9 in Big South play, while Liberty receives the No. 3 seed with its 14-10 League record.  Gardner-Webb, Radford and UNC Asheville tied for fourth-place in the Conference standings at 12-12, and the tiebreaker procedure for multiple-team ties was used -- composite records of the tying teams against each other to determine if one team won more games against the other institutions.  Gardner-Webb and Radford were both 4-2, while UNC Asheville was 1-5 to fall to the No. 6 seed.  With the tie being reduced back to Gardner-Webb and Radford, the Runnin' Bulldogs claim the No. 4 seed due to winning the season series over the Highlanders, 2-games-to-1, which drops Radford to No. 5.

Tournament host High Point and Charleston Southern tied for seventh-place in the League standings at 11-13, and the Panthers receive the No. 7 seed due to winning the season series with the Buccaneers, 2-games-to-1. 

The tournament begins Tuesday, May 22 with four games scheduled -- No. 4 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 5 Radford at 9:30am, No. 1 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 8 Charleston Southern 45 minutes after Game 1, No. 3 Liberty vs. No. 6 UNC Asheville at 4:30pm and No. 2 Campbell vs. No. 7 High Point 45 minutes after Game 3.  The bracket was adjusted to allow host High Point to play in the final game on Tuesday night.

The championship will continue with Games 5-8 on Wednesday, May 23, Games 9-10 on Thursday, May 24, Games 11-12 and any if necessary contests on Friday, May 25.  The championship game will be played Saturday, May 26 at 4:00pm and will be televised live on ESPN3.

Meanwhile, the Big South will announce the 2012 All-Conference teams and annual award winners Monday evening during a special awards presentation for the teams at the Fine Arts Center on High Point's campus.

The complete Conference Championship schedule appears below, and all games Tuesday-Friday will be video streamed live on the Big South Network presented by State Farm.  Tournament games will be available daily via the $6.95 Day Pass -- which covers all games played that respective day -- or the $19.95 Championship Pass, which features all the tournament games played prior to Saturday.  In addition, real-time "Live Stats" will be available on both the Big South's and High Point's website free of charge.

Big South Tournament Central

Tuesday, May 22 (Games 1-4)
Game 1:  No. 4 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 5 Radford, 9:30am
Game 2:  No. 1 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 8 Charleston Southern, 45 minutes following Game 1
Game 3:  No. 3 Liberty vs. No. 6 UNC Asheville, 4:30pm
Game 4:  No. 2 Campbell vs. No. 7 High Point, 45 minutes following Game 3

Wednesday, May 23 (Games 5-8)
Game 5:  Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 9:30am
Game 6:  Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 45 minutes following Game 5
Game 7:  Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 4:30pm
Game 8:  Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 45 minutes following Game 7

Thursday, May 24 (Games 9-10)
Game 9:  Loser Game 7 vs. Winner Game 5, 3:00pm
Game 10:  Loser Game 8 vs. Winner Game 6, 45 minutes following Game 9

Friday, May 25 (Games 11-12 [13-14])
Game 11:  Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9, 10:00am
Game 12:  Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 10, 45 minutes following Game 11
Game 13:  if necessary - Winner Game 11 vs. Loser Game 11, 5:00pm (7 innings)
Game 14: if necessary - Winner Game 12 vs. Loser Game 12, 45 minutes following Game 13 (7 innings)

Saturday, May 26 (Championship Game)
Winner Game 11 (or 13) vs. Winner Game 12 (or 14), 4:00pm (TV: ESPN3)