Big South Announces Men's Tennis Players of the Week


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - Liberty junior Siim Tuus (Rakvere, Estonia) has been selected as the Big South Conference Choice Hotels Men's Tennis Player of the Week, while teammate Jorge Azuero (Cali, Colombia) has been named The Crons Brand Freshman of the Week for matches played April 2-8, it was announced today by the League office.

Tuus tallied a combined 3-1 record last week as the Flames posted a pair of victories.  The junior started the week with a straight-set victory over Longwood's Nobu Tanaka to help Liberty win, 5-2.  In the 7-0 sweep of UNC Asheville, Tuus paired up with Giancarlo Lemmi to knock off Matt Waissen and Jonas Brobeck, 8-4, while also taking the No. 1 singles match against Adrien Langeard, 6-1, 7-6 (7-1).

Azuero went 3-0 last week to help the Flames to a 2-0 record.  Against Longwood on April 3, Azuero defeated Harry Kelleher, 6-2, 7-6 (7-5).  Three days later vs. UNC Asheville, he and Mandeep Yadav posted an 8-6 doubles win at the No. 3 position over John Schubel and Pete Conaty.  In singles, Azuero picked up a solid victory, topping Schubel, 6-2, 6-0.

Also nominated for Men's Tennis Player of the Week: Leo Christofides (Coastal Carolina).

Also nominated for Men's Tennis Freshman of the Week: Garik Yedigarian (Coastal Carolina).

2012 Men's Tennis Players of the Week
Jan. 19 - Thomas Dehaen, Radford
Jan. 25 - Nick Sayer, Radford
Feb. 1 - Leo Christofides, Coastal Carolina
Feb. 8 - Danny Heidecker, Coastal Carolina
Feb. 14 - Giancarlo Lemmi, Liberty
Feb. 22 - Fernando Guillen, Campbell
Feb. 28 - Nick Sayer, Radford
March 5 - Yusuke Kusuda, Coastal Carolina
March 13 - Nick Sayer, Radford
March 20 - Siim Tuus, Liberty
March 27 - Fernando Guillen, Campbell
April 3 - Nick Sayer, Radford

2012 Men's Tennis Freshmen of the Week
Jan. 19 - Patrick O'Keefe, Radford
Jan. 25 - Adrian Rossignon, Campbell
Feb. 1 - Dylan Comerford, Winthrop
Feb. 8 - Ernest Alberch, Gardner-Webb
Feb. 14 - Wayne Harrell, Liberty
Feb. 22 - Garik Yedigarian, Coastal Carolina
Feb. 28 - Patrick O'Keefe, Radford
March 5 - Wayne Harrell, Liberty
March 13 - Rich Meade, Winthrop
March 20 - Dillon Segur, Liberty
March 27 - Patrick O'Keefe, Radford
April 3 - Dillon Segur, Liberty