Big South Announces Men's Golf All-Conference, All-Academic Teams


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - On the eve of the 2012 Big South Men's Golf Championship, the Big South announced half of its All-Conference team as well as its All-Academic Team this evening.  The five All-Conference honorees earn their spot based on regular-season play and are voted by the head coaches.  The All-Academic Team is comprised of one student-athlete from each of the Big South's men's golf playing members that meets the necessary criteria for selection.

Liberty's Robert Karlsson, Charleston Southern's Jacobo Pastor and Coastal Carolina's Sebastian Soderberg highlight this year's All-Conference squad.  Karlsson receives his fourth All-Conference accolade -- just the seventh men's golfer in Big South history to earn this distinction, while Pastor and Soderberg are now three-time All-Conference selections.

Karlsson enters the Big South Championship as the Conference's highest-ranked golfer at No. 38 nationally by Golfweek, and is fourth in the Big South with a 71.86 stroke average.  He posted a League-high eight Top 10 finishes and posted 12 rounds under-par this season, including nine in the 60s.  Karlsson is the Big South's first four-time All-Conference honoree since former Coastal Carolina All-American Dustin Johnson (2004-07).

Pastor is third in the Conference with a 71.63 stroke average and has four Top 10 finishes to his credit.  He is the No. 143rd ranked collegiate golfer in the nation by Golfweek and was Charleston Southern's top finisher in the last seven tournaments of the season.  Pastor also had 12 under-par rounds in 2011-12, and finished four tournaments in red numbers.

Soderberg ranks in the Conference's top 10 with a 73.13 stroke average and was Coastal's top finisher in seven events this season.  He had four wins over Top 25 opponents and was the individual medalist at the Furman Intercollegiate.  Soderberg had eight under-par rounds and finished three tournaments in red numbers.  Ranked No. 150 nationally, Soderberg was a two-time Big South Golfer of the Week selection this season.

Also voted to the All-Conference team are Campbell senior Vaita Guillaume and Gardner-Webb senior Kristopher Gray.  Guillaume is the Big South's leader with a 70.46 stroke average -- including a 69.83 average in the spring.  He is the No. 99 ranked golfer nationally by Golfweek, and led the Conference with four individual titles among his six Top 10 finishes.  Gray is second in the League with a 71.59 stroke average and won two tournaments this season.  He also tallied five Top 10 finishes and had 13 rounds under-par.

The remaining All-Conference members will consist of the top five finishers (and any additional ties) in this week's Championship not among those already named to the team.  Those honorees, as well as the Big South Golfer of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will be announced following Wednesday's final round.

In addition, all nine men's golf playing members placed an individual on the All-Academic Team.  These individuals met the criteria of having at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average, be of at least sophomore standing (both academically and athletically) and played in 50 percent of the team's rounds.  Six individuals from the All-Academic Team have at least a 3.30 GPA and are candidates for the Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, which is selected by the Big South's Sports Information Directors.

The 2012 Big South Men's Golf Championship is being contested at The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety Six, S.C., and begins Monday, April 16 with the first round beginning at 8:00am.  The 54-hole event continues Tuesday, April 17 and concludes Wednesday, April 18, with the champion receiving the Big South's automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals.  The event is free and open to the public, and can be followed via GolfStat's Live Scoring feature.

2012 Big South Conference Men's Golf Award Winners

All-Conference Team 
Kristopher Gray, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Vaita Guillaume, Sr., Campbell
Robert Karlsson, Sr., Liberty
Jacobo Pastor, Sr., Charleston Southern
Sebastian Soderberg, Jr., Coastal Carolina

All-Academic Team
Mitch Gray, Sr., Campbell
David Denlinger, Jr., Charleston Southern
Sebastian Soderberg, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Kristopher Gray, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Chase Wilson, Jr., High Point
Max McKay, Jr., Liberty
Matt Sizemore, Jr., Presbyterian College
Callum Tarren, Soph., Radford
Damon Postal, Soph., Winthrop