Big South Announces 2012 T&F Outstanding Performers


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - Javon Young of Charleston Southern was named the 2012 Big South Men's Track and Field Championship Most Outstanding Track Performer, while Liberty's Ryan Smith garnered the 2012 Men's Most Outstanding Field Performer.  Erica Peake from Coastal Carolina was tabbed the Women's Most Outstanding Track Performer and Kierra Gabe of Coastal Carolina was picked the Women's Most Outstanding Field Performer, as voted on by the head coaches,  the League announced today.  Liberty's Kyle Wheeler was named the 2012 Men's Freshman of the Year while and Mulern Jean of Charleston Southern and Mychelle Cummings of Liberty tied for the Women's Freshman of the Year. Radford's Brett Olinger and High Point's Kelsey Fraser where named the Men's and Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year, respectively by the League's Media Relations Directors.

Young, a senior from Swainsboro, Ga., picked up four gold medals during the meet with wins in the 100-meter, 200-meter, 4x100-meter and 4x400- meter relay events.  He got things going with a time of 10.38 in the 100 meters and followed with a 20.82 in the 200 meters.  During the 200-meter prelims, Young set the meet-record and posted an Olympic "B" standard time as he crossed the line in 20.69.  He ran the second leg in both relay events to lead his squad to a meet-record time of 39.91 in the 4x100-meters and a time of 3:12.92 in the 4x400 meter relay.

Smith, a red-shirt junior from Winder, Ga., claimed first-place in the shot put and discus and finished second in the hammer throw.  His first gold of the event came in the discus with a mark of 169' 11" and followed with a gold medal in the shot put with a throw of 55' 2.25".  He also claimed second in the hammer throw with a distance of 194' 11".

Peake, junior from Spartanburg, S.C., collected four first-places during the 2012 Championship.  She posted a time of 11.75 in the 100-meter event and followed with a clocking of 23.70 in the 200-meter event.  She ran the second leg of the 4x100-meter relay event to help her team to a time of 45.63 and closed the meet out in the third leg of the 4x400 meter relay as her team finished with a time of 3:45.75.

Gabe, a senior from Adams Run, N.C., finished on the podium in all three jumping events.  She claimed first in the high jump with a track-record leap of 5' 9.25".  In the long jump, Gabe finished second with a mark of 18' 10.50".  She closed out the meet with a second-place jump of 40' 4.25" in the triple jump.

Wheeler, a jumps athlete from Wilson, Texas, picked up the first outdoor gold medal of his career as he turned in a meet-record jump of 7' 1" in the high jump.  He also claimed fifth in the long jump with a mark of 23' 2".

Jean, a sprinter from Pompano Beach, Fla, posted a meet-record in the 100-meter hurdles to claim first in a time of 13.45.  She also finished eighth in the 100-meter dash with a time of 12.45.

Cummings, a thrower from Madison, Tenn., claimed a pair of gold medals at the 2012 Championship.  She took first in the shot put with a mark of 50' 6.25" and finished first in the discus with a throw of 159' 6".  She also finished ninth in the hammer throw with a distance of 156' 9".

Brant Tolsma of Liberty was tabbed the  Men's Coach of the Year, while Brett Olinger of Radford was named the Big South Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Alan Connie won women's Coach of the Year honors with Kelsey Fraser of High Point taking home the Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor.

Men's Most Outstanding Track Performer
Javon Young, Charleston Southern

Women's Most Outstanding Track Performer
Erica Peake, Coastal Carolina

Men's Most Outstanding Field Performer
Ryan Smith, Liberty

Women's Most Outstanding Field Performer
Kierra Gabe, Coastal Carolina

Men's Freshman of the Year
Kyle Wheeler, Liberty

Women's Co-Freshman of the Year
Mychelle Cummings, Liberty
Mulern Jean, Charleston Southern

Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Brett Olinger, Radford

Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kelsey Fraser, High Point

Men's All-Academic
Christopher Schulist, Campbell
Matt Smith Charleston Southern
Kyle Kling, Coastal Carolina
Carson Sears, Gardner-Webb
Jevin Monds, High Point
Jacob DeValve, Liberty
Brett Olinger, Radford
Jeremy Harn, UNC Asheville
Cabell Willis, VMI
Adam Leroux, Winthrop

Women's All-Academic
Rudi Fate, Campbell
Adrienne Cuff, Charleston Southern
Emily Marchini, Coastal Carolina
Ivana Hughes, Gardner-Webb
Kelsey Fraser, High Point
Olivia Charnuski, Liberty
Aimee Veatch, Radford
Corey McClintock, UNC Asheville
Jennifer Sing, VMI
Tara Bowman, Winthrop

Men's Coach of the Year
Brant Tolsma, Liberty

Women's Coach of the Year
Alan Connie, Coastal Carolina